Music

Sun Heart

Sun Heart

“People are afraid of themselves, of their own reality; their feelings most of all. People talk about how great love is, but that’s bullshit. Love hurts. Feelings are disturbing. People are taught that pain is evil and dangerous. How can they deal with love if they’re afraid to feel? Pain is meant to wake us up. People try to hide their pain. But they’re wrong. Pain is something to carry, like a radio. You feel your strength in the experience of pain. It’s all in how you carry it. That’s what matters. Pain is a feeling. Your feelings are a part of you. Your own reality. If you feel ashamed of them, and hide them, you’re letting society destroy your reality. You should stand up for your right to feel your pain.”
Jim Morrison

“Wild Nights” Emily Dickinson

Music

I’m afraid of music.
Secret? Yes (but I can write
Whatever I want here).
I know myself. Too involved
Too upset.
Caught in the sound,

Caught in the dream
Of music. Afraid it will awaken
Something that
Will not let go. Afraid to
Fall in love and wake
Up a fallen woman.

Damage done. (Why?)
Caught in the drive and
Wild abandon, Emily’s
“Wild Nights.” Sucked
Into the Rhythmic vortex
Pulsing beat. Box.

Caught boxing. Who can you trust?
(Not yourself.) The temptation
Weakens and takes you up,
Up. Then, drops you like an egg
On cement – the great
Shame-faced egg. The glutton

Faced with a big meal so
Carefully prepared but rushed
Through, without flavor. A great sin.
A sinner. (Who says?) It packs on
Pounds but breaks you down.
So fast, right?

Ah, the trick. The hit. Heroine’s high.
She’s riding Morrison’s mojo,
Dancing with the snakes,
Going up from the root.
Shoots out the mind.
Mr. Mojo Rising.

Touch. Scent. Light vibration.
Assault. Primal fear. Watch out!
The breakdown, break it down,
Now. Liquid mercury beading up
Silver sliver softening,
Streaming in you, music.
© Cynthia Pittmann
2014


 

About Cynthia Pittmann

I am a writer, life-artist, friend to humans, animals and nature. I'm a published poet, and I post original photographs in the WordPress blog. I'm experimenting with a poetic form that is meant to be read (and seen) with music videos. In the Oasis Writing Link blog (blogger), I write about living in Puerto Rico, memoir vignettes, offer creative writing ideas, explore art and sometimes discuss books I'm reading. I have two ongoing non-fiction writing projects: I'm writing a memoir about my mothers who were murdered in a hate crime and an experiential book about learning and practicing creative writing. I am an openminded accepting person. I invite you to introduce yourself (and your areas of artistic interest to me) on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. ॐ
This entry was posted in Cynthia Pittmann, music, Poems, Poetry, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music

Leave a Reply

